AFI Announces 2010 Audience Award Winners


Los Angeles, CA, November 11, 2010

AFI FEST 2010 presented by Audi has announced it’s Festival’s Audience Awards.

Here is a list of winners.

World Cinema:BOY; DIR/SCR Taika Waititi — New Zealand.

New Auteurs:BEDEVILLED; DIR Cheol-soo Jang. SCR Choi Gwang-young — South Korea.

Young Americans:LITTLEROCK; DIR/SCR Mike Ott — USA.25548_379970816863_328021841863_3941575_7735511_n

Breakthrough (award accompanied by $5,000 cash prize):HAMILL; DIR Oren Kaplan. SCR Joseph McKelheer, Eben Kostbar — USA.

In addition, the Short Film Jury (Kyle Patrick Alvarez, Katie Aselton, Greta Gerwig and Todd Luoto) announced its winners, which qualify for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ annual Academy Awards.

Live Action Short Film:QUADRANGLE; DIR Amy Grappell — USA.

Animated Short Film:MARCEL THE SHELL WITH SHOES ON; DIR Dean Fleischer-Camp. SCR Jenny Slate, Dean Fleischer-Camp — USA.

Honorable Mention: PHOTOGRAPH OF JESUS (DIR Laurie Hill) and THE HIGH LEVEL BRIDGE (DIR/SCR Trevor Anderson)

The announcements were made at a ceremony at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, and all of the films were screened again at the Mann’s Chinese Theater later that day.